M is for Monkey

Following on from my success with cute cats, for today’s A-Z Challenge we’re going down the marvellous monkey route.

p03q5rbw

This cute little spider monkey lives in a rescue centre in Guatemala.  Aw.

78563-1

This monkey doesn’t live in Guatemala.  Instead, he’s the star of cult ’70s show ‘Monkey’.  Or, as anyone who’s ever watched it would say, ‘Ahhhhh, Monkaaay.’

_85730600_monkey2

This monkey became famous for taking a selfie.  It’s actually a hell of a lot better than most of the selfies I’ve seen on Facebook.

MID_287234

This isn’t a monkey.  It’s a gorilla, which is technically a great ape.  In fact, gorillas share 98.3% of their genetic code with humans, making them our closest cousins after chimpanzees and bonobos (excellent word).

When I was a child during the ’70s, there was a lot of talk on the news about Guerrilla Warfare.  Or, as I heard, from the floor where I’d be attempting to get something more than a square out of my Etch A Sketch, Gorilla Warfare. It was many, many years before I found out the truth.   Oh, the shame…

10 thoughts on “M is for Monkey”

    1. Glad I made you smile – monkey pictures are excellent for that!

      I haven’t planned my A-Z posts very well so the thought that we’re on the homeward stretch is making me smile!!

      Like

Anything to add?

